Little Eyes, Building Life Long Habits

“Our children are watching us live, and what we ARE shouts louder than anything we can say.” – Wilferd A. Peterson

Being a parent is amazing. To have such a strong impact on someones life is really quite amazing and scary all in one thought. I remember that I idolized my parents and wanted to be like them, I remember watching my dad work on cars so I would mimic him working on my little red wagon. I remember watching my mom cook and I would copy her on my little kitchen set. I am not surprised that children copy their parents, obviously I mean I was a child at one point. But seeing it through the eyes of a parent is such a neat experience.

My son has just barely turned 2. He knows his alphabet and can count to 5 and knows all the number to 10, these things alone make me very proud to be his mom. But that isn’t what I am here to write about today. Today I am going to write about something else he does that makes me so proud.

I use to do my workouts when my son was sleeping. I was worried he would be in the way or would be a distraction. Recently, as he is able to play independently I have started working out while he is awake.

It started simple enough, I would be doing some workout video and he would run up and watch the TV and run off. I didn’t really think he was understanding what was going on. Then when I was lifting weights he kept trying to pretend he was lifting too. I had some 2lb weights I dug out for him to use when/if he felt like it when I was working out. He loved it!

Lately when I put on workout video he runs over and says “eggersize?” I of course say yes lets workout. So he runs and grabs his weights and workouts for a bit, since he is 2 his attention span isn’t very wide so he runs off and does something else and comes back. Last night I was doing some push-ups and he got down on the groups and did his toddler version which was stinkin’ adorable!

I don’t force him to do anything and let him join me as he pleases, but it makes me really proud to look over and see my son trying to workout with me.

weights

My son loaded my weights for me one night!

One of the things I believe that we must do for our children is teach them healthy habits. If we encourage exercise and eating healthy foods we can help them grow into adults that understand the importance of having these things in their life. The things we teach them good or bad will stay with them for the rest of their lives.

Always set good examples.

Leave a Reply

