Happy Birthday to Me

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are? – Satchel Paige
Getting older really doesn’t bother me. I will be completely honest with you, I kind of love being in my 30’s. I know there are many people who dread turning 30 but for me it wasn’t really a big deal. Then again, getting older has never really been a big deal to me. Of course there were the main birthdays like when you turn 13, 18, 21 and 25. But these birthdays just mark milestones in your life. I believe you are only as old as you feel. I have met some people who are in their 50’s who are more full of life then people in their early 20’s.
It is a sad waste of life if you dwell on the things you can not change, like aging. Who wants to waste your years complaining about how old you are. Certainly not me. I will continue to live my life in the way that I feel is best for me and my family without worrying about what age I am.
Worrying about age puts a lot of limitations and pressure on people. When you are young the pressures are well I am 25 now, I should be married have a house with a white picket fence, 2.5 children and a perfect job. If you don’t have those things you start to get antsy and trying to get these things before society deems you to old. Sometimes you even settle for some person who will “work” and usually these people end up divorced or in really unhappy lives. We set limitations on ourselves as we age too. We decide that at a certain age we are to old for things, like going to college, changing careers, skydiving..you get the picture. Know this, you are NEVER to old!!
When you take away the age factor from your thinking you suddenly open yourself up to a whole new world. Take that class, find that dream job, jump out of a plane do whatever it is your heart desires because you are not to old, enjoy life.
For me I will be and do what I want and age isn’t going to stop me. I will continue on my path and I hope you do too. Find The Beauty Within.
Leave a Reply

